The Hound of the Baskervilles

DiscovereBooksThe Hound of the Baskervilles
The Hound of the Baskervilles


Arthur Conan Doyle

About this book

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the third of the four crime novels by British writer Arthur Conan Doyle featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes. Originally serialised in The Strand Magazine from August 1901 to April 1902, it is set largely on Dartmoor in Devon in England's West Country and tells the story of an attempted murder inspired by the legend of a fearsome, diabolical hound of supernatural origin. Holmes and Watson investigate the case.

Contents (16)

Currently reading
Chapter 1. Mr. Sherlock Holmes
Chapter 2. The Curse of the Baskervilles
Chapter 3. The Problem
Chapter 4. Sir Henry Baskerville
Chapter 5. Three Broken Threads
Chapter 6. Baskerville Hall
Chapter 7. The Stapletons of Merripit House
Chapter 8. First Report of Dr. Watson
Chapter 9. The Light upon the Moor [Second Report of Dr. Watson]
Chapter 10. Extract from the Diary of Dr. Watson
Chapter 11. The Man on the Tor
Chapter 12. Death on the Moor
Chapter 13. Fixing the Nets
Chapter 14. The Hound of the Baskervilles
Chapter 15. A Retrospection


My dear Robinson,

    It was to your account of a West-Country legend that this tale owes its inception. For this and for your help in the details all thanks.

Yours most truly,        A. Conan Doyle.